Reviews and Testimonials

These reviews and testimonials came from my TeachStreet page — a teaching/learning aggregator website I was on, which no longer exists.  These students were kind enough to write these reviews and many of them have since become friends.  I didn’t want to lose their kind words — so I’ve copied them here, verbatim.

There are other reviews sprinkled around this website and on affiliate sites where I have a profile page.


“Wonderful Experience-Great Teacher?”

★ ★ ★ ★


Dan Benyak

Review of Dance! Eclectic

 June 07, 2010

I can’t say enough positive things about Linda! What an incredible teacher and dancer.

Looking forward to possible future classes and/or endeavours.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator.

I would recommend this teacher

--from TeachStreet website



“Great instruction - lots of individual attention”

★ ★ ★ ★

Sanna Oddone

Review of Dance! Eclectic, February 20, 2010

My fiance and I recieved dance lessons (singletime swing) at Dance Eclectic as a gift from my brother for Christmas. We really enjoyed the class (which was often nearly a private lesson) and we came out with a good understanding of the basics as well as a few sweet looking turns and footwork.  Overall, very highly recommended.  Linda and Dave are not just awesome teachers, but are also fun and interesting people.  You can’t go wrong with their classes.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator.

I would recommend this teacher

--from TeachStreet website



“Personalized attention and expert teaching”

★ ★ ★ ★

Kara Pomeroy

Review of Dance! Eclectic, December 21, 2009

Linda is a great dance teacher - she knows her stuff and is very approachable with questions.  I never felt stupid when I wasn’t “getting it”, she just showed me again what the correct move was supposed to be.  I highly recommend her.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator

I would recommend this teacher

--from TeachStreet website


“Fun S”

★ ★ ★ ★

Rick Sola

Review of Dance! Eclectic

 December 17, 2009

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator

I would recommend this teacher

--from TeachStreet website






“I love Linda’s classes”

★ ★ ★ ★

Ken

Seattle, WA

Review of Dance! Eclectic, December 16, 2009

Linda is a very competent teacher.  she has shown lots of caring and has been persistent in helping me to dance well.

Pros: Helpful, Engaging, Encouraging, Smart, Patient, Funny, Fun, Good communicator

I would recommend this teacher

--from TeachStreet website



“A Consummate Teacher”

★ ★ ★ ★

1237064 10151882193728781 692040708 n 2

Nicolas Townsend

New York, NY

Review of Swing Dance for Kids andTeens,  January 26, 2009


Linda is like a mother to me...
seriously, she's actually my mom!

And if anyone can speak to her talent as a teacher of children it's me, considering that she home-schooled me from first grade through high school. Plus, when it comes to dance, I am able to speak from the perspective of a fellow teacher, since we've taught together on multiple occasions. 

Linda has a way of instantly creating rapport with everyone with whom she comes in contact. This is especially true with kids because she refuses to talk down to them. When she is teaching, everyone is on common ground, every question and comment is equally valid and addressed as such.

She is continually refining her techniques and innovating new approaches and as a result her instruction is surprisingly thorough yet refreshingly concise. 

Her methodology is truly progressive, she has an acute awareness of different learning styles enabling her to offer each student a personalized learning experience, even in a group setting.

Above all, you can't help but have a great time in class with her because she's having such a darn good time herself! Teaching and dance are the two things she is most passionate about (other than me of course!) and her love for them is palpable and infectious. Whether your a duck to water or you have two left feet, she'll have you hooked in minutes!

Teacher's Response:
Wow. Thank you, Nicolas. And I didn't even tell you what to say! I constantly feel proud of the person are, and lucky that you call me "Mom." Thank you for the time we taught together. I’ve learned a lot from you.


--from TeachStreet website



“Terriffic Partnering Class”

★ ★ ★ ★

Rita

Review of Dance Partnering for Men and Women, January 19, 2009

Linda's classes have drastically improved my movement as an individual dancer and my coordination dancing with a partner. Her lessons focus on movement writ large so the movements and principles that you learn can carry over into any sort of dance you might find yourself in. 

Particularly helpful have been the exercises that break down movement into easy, simple and cumulative principles. This has really allowed us to work at a pace that enables real, steady improvement and has given us greater confidence. (And honestly, this is the stuff I wished teachers would have taught when I was learning dance steps in prior classes.) 

I would highly recommend Linda to anyone (beginner or experienced) who wants to improve their movement and coordination with a partner.


--from TeachStreet website



“An Inspired and Inspiring Teacher”

★ ★ ★ ★

428072 4522024087116 405703980 n 2

Ken Camper

Seattle WA

Review of Dance! Eclectic, January 15, 2009

I have taken dance classes for many years and Linda Townsend is one of the best teachers I have had the opportunity to work with. She is a highly experienced and accomplished dancer who is exceptionally skilled at instruction for all levels and types of dance.

Linda has a unique understanding of the importance of understanding and mastering fundamental skills, which are so important to learning how to become a confident dancer who is comfortable with other others on the dance floor. In my experience, these basics are typically skipped or skimmed over, even though they are so crucial in learning how to experience the exhilaration of partner dancing.

Key elements include understanding rhythm, the importance of balance and weight changes, and knowledge of how our bodies need to move and adapt themselves to various dance styles and movements. 

Whether you are new to dance or consider yourself an experienced dancer, LInda approaches dance with a zest that is inspiring and makes classes a fun.


--from TeachStreet website



“Wonderful Dance Classes”

★ ★ ★ ★

600454 10151443916711770 1834562963 n

Compassionate17

Mercer Island, WA

Review of Private Dance Lessons in Seattle, October 12, 2008

I am fortunate to have Linda as my private dance instructor. Her teaching style taught me how to dance very quickly. She motivated me with clear instructions, graceful movements, fun steps, and humor. I recommend Linda to anyone who wants to learn how to dance skillfully and gracefully.


--from TeachStreet website

© Copyright 2000-2019 Dance! Eclectic | website designed, created & mainteinaed by Linda Townsend West